DeepFreeze Freeze/Thaw Instructions

These instructions are for freezing or thawing a machine that has Marmot’s installation of DeepFreeze on it.  If changes are to be made on a machine which has DeepFreeze on it, and those changes are something that is not intended to be wiped out the first time the computer reboots, it must be thawed before making those changes.  This includes installing or updating software.  To protect the data on the computer, and potentially user privacy, the machine MUST then be refrozen before being returned to regular usage.


 Instructions

Thaw a machine:

  • Most machines that have DeepFreeze will be public machines, and will have PCRes on them. It will be necessary to either sign into a PCRes session, or bypass PCRes, to begin thawing the machine. (see separate instructions to bypass PCRes)

  • Once the desktop is available, press (all at once) Ctrl + Alt + Shift + F6. This will bring up the DeepFreeze password window.

  • Enter the password provided by Marmot staff. NEVER share this password with patrons.

  • Click the “OK” button.

  • On the next pop-up window, on the Boot Control tab, select the “Boot Thawed” radio button near the upper left corner of the window.

  • Click on the “Apply and Reboot” button at the bottom-right corner of the window.

    • A pop-up window will appear saying that “The computer will be Thawed on all future starts.”

      • Click on “OK”, or wait just a moment and it will go to the next step on it own.

    • A confirmation pop-up will appear, saying “The configuration has been saved successfully. Do you want to reboot your computer now?”

      • Click “Yes”. It is necessary to reboot the computer for it to actually thaw.

    • The computer will now reboot. When it does, it will reboot to its autolog profile, but will be in a thawed state. You may now make changes as needed. Don’t forget to refreeze the machine afterward.

 

Freeze a machine:

  • From the desktop, press (all at once) Ctrl + Alt + Shift + F6.  This will bring up the DeepFreeze password window.

  • Enter the password provided by Marmot staff.  NEVER share this password with patrons.

  • Click the “OK” button.

  • On the next pop-up screen, on the Boot Control tab, select the “Boot Frozen” radio button, near the upper left corner of the window.

  • Click on the “Apply and Reboot” button at the bottom-right corner of the window.

    • A pop-up window will appear saying that “The computer will be Frozen on all future starts.”

      • Click on “OK”, or wait just a moment.

    • A confirmation pop-up will appear, saying “The configuration has been saved successfully.  Do you want to reboot your computer now?”

      • Click “Yes”.  It is necessary to reboot the computer for it to actually freeze.

    • The computer will now reboot frozen, and any changes made to it by the next user will be wiped out as soon as the computer is rebooted again.